Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Camera not working with PC.

  1. #1

    Default Camera not working with PC.

    I have a JVC GR-DVL160EK, and I decided to make some test footage for me to edit - I filmed it no problems, but once I plug it in, the PC detects it, but during capture on Adobe Premiere, the preview stops, and upon cancellation, it says frames were dropped.
    I then have to replug my camera in for my PC to detect it - only to get the same problem again!

    I am using Windows XP, and the same problem occurs whilst using Windows Movie Maker.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    If it happens no matter the s/w then you can discount that as the problem I'm guessing.

    This leaves either the camera and how it recorded the footage or how the footage is being transferred.

    So, does the footage play back ok on camera?

    How are you connecting the camera to the PC?

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Mills View Post
    If it happens no matter the s/w then you can discount that as the problem I'm guessing.

    This leaves either the camera and how it recorded the footage or how the footage is being transferred.

    So, does the footage play back ok on camera?

    How are you connecting the camera to the PC?
    The video plays absolutely fine on the camera - with no errors. During capture, after being notified of the error, it still continues playing well on the built-in monitor of the camera.

    I'm connecting to the PC via a Firewire connection at the back of my PC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Are you capturing to a laptop or desktop computer? If it is a laptop then the hard disk may not be fast enough to keep up with the amount of data coming in on the Firewire cable. Unless you have a dedicated hard disk on your laptop to capture video then it might be running at 5,400rpm instead of the minimum 7,200rpm which is recommended for SD video capture.

    When did you last defragment the hard disk, you need to do it a lot more often when working with video as this is one of the main causes of frame drops. Also delete unnecessary files and disable screensavers, anti virus software and anything else that is running or starts to run during the capture process. You might try a different Firewire cable aswell to see if that makes a difference.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    Are you capturing to a laptop or desktop computer? If it is a laptop then the hard disk may not be fast enough to keep up with the amount of data coming in on the Firewire cable. Unless you have a dedicated hard disk on your laptop to capture video then it might be running at 5,400rpm instead of the minimum 7,200rpm which is recommended for SD video capture.

    When did you last defragment the hard disk, you need to do it a lot more often when working with video as this is one of the main causes of frame drops. Also delete unnecessary files and disable screensavers, anti virus software and anything else that is running or starts to run during the capture process. You might try a different Firewire cable aswell to see if that makes a difference.
    I'm using a desktop.

    I haven't defragged the PC in a long time - I'll try doing that, and then give it another shot.
    Failing that, I should have a spare firewire cable somewhere - so I'll give that a try too.

Similar Threads

  1. Canon HD camera using Rebel XT lenses, 4-6 Meg Pixel still camera combo
    By dydavid in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 06:06 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 10:49 PM
  3. can't just get it working
    By akinola davies in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2005, 05:23 PM
  4. Are we working yet?
    By Mike Thorpe in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 08:25 PM
  5. LE not working
    By dberryman in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-30-2004, 05:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •