Thread: The right camcorder for Adobe CS3

Default The right camcorder for Adobe CS3

Just bought ans intalled CS3 - never used that yet.

Now in the process of choosing the right camcorder. Wish to do 'serious half-pro' for web posts.

I read that CS3 cannot edit AVCHD format - that it will downgrade to standard. Does it mean a big loss ?

I was considering Canon HG10 but it does not do anything else than AVCHD. Thenm there's the SONY SR45 - not HD though.

I would have wished the best of both worlds: a HD capable cam that can also do Standard recording. So, my external setup can evolve later and still have use of it. On he other hand, I read HDV is using a media rather than HDD which seems more convenient.

I have my old Mini DV tape based that is a PITA to transfer to PC - USB was not the way to fo in 2001...

Any recommendation or advice ? I am new to these HDD - AVCHD - HDV formats and wish to have something 'decent' (not fully pro), affordable (not expensive). Easy to send to PC and use with software for editing and burning and converting. Using external audio (not what's being recorded - at least not all the times. I am puzzled here...

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

If you have Premiere CS3 then you will also have OnLocation. Forget tapes and the like and capture straight top you PC or laptop in the highest def you can and edit straight from that.

First and most important, how much can you afford?

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Respectfully, I would argue that the first question to ask is what features do you need in a camera. Then worry about whether you can afford it. I feel (as happened to me) that if you buy a lesewer camera than you really want or need you'll only be buying a new one just as soon as you CAN afford it. Save yourself some money and just save a little longer for the right camera and just get it a little later.