Thread: In at the deep end?

Default In at the deep end?

Hi, and thanks for all the useful info about videography that I've picked up on the forum so far.
    I'm considering getting into wedding videography, I'm a wedding photographer but want to be more versatile. Acting on some advice from the forum I'm chasing a second hand but apparently little-used Sony HVR-Z1E HDV Camcorder Z1 Z1E , for 2000.00.
    I just wonder whether `dabblers' like myself should start off with a more basic cam, as I can't charge the usual full wedding videography fee, which seems to be around 1000.00, and thus recover the cost of the cam fairly quickly.
    By the way, if anyone on the forum has a good cam they want to sell, I'd be interested.
    Last edited by snapper1; 11-06-2008 at 06:53 PM.

Blog Entries

Dabblers are con men if they charge.

Dont charge untill you are a pro, not a dabbler..... Only a very few shills are transferable, like compositional skills and knowledge of dof.

Apart from that it is a toally different game and about a thousand times more demanding. You gotta learn to use an editor too, and then learn how to edit.

Hi Mark, thanks for responding. I don't charge for the videography, I make it clear that it's a free extra. I figure this way I can learn wedding videography without being responsible.
    I appreciate that it's more demanding than wedding photography - if you do it the way you guys seem to do.
    It seems to me that I've been mixing with the wrong kind of wedding videographers. The ones that I meet at weddings just seem to follow the action, they don't set any shots up the way that I do.
    For example, I don't see them looking for good backgrounds, interesting lighting, capturing any photojournalistic moments - or setting up any photojournalistic moments, the way that I do.

"setting up photojournalistic moments" ?