Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Electromagnetic Fields advice?!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Electromagnetic Fields advice?!

    I desperately need some advice, I'm supposed to be filming a huge piece of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance equipment, however I'm concerned about the effects it may have on my Sony Z1! I've been told that certain positions in the room are safe for people to stand in but the effects on things like credit cards are irreversible- does anyone know the 'safe' levels of magnetism/ electromagnetic fields the Z1 can with stand? I've read in the manual it can cope with E1, E2, E3, E4 electromagnetic environments but does anyone actually know what this means?!
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    My gut feeling would be no.

    The magnets are on all the time and the fields can be up to 4 tesla - thats high. When I did my nurses training I was told nothing ever magnetic was allowed in the scanning room.

    I have a friend who is a raidographer, I will see if I can catch him for an opinion. Is filming from the operators position possible?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    3

    Default

    its not in an operating theatre, its at a university where it is being used for experiments- if I could figure out the amount being used it might help. Do you know what the Electromagnetic environments ratings mean?!
    I've filmed in several operating theaters before with no ill effects its just the shear size of the machinery that the problem?!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I meant the scanner operators postion.

    I am guessing its a superconducting magnet hence they cant turn it off ? ? ? ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    3

    Default

    not being able to turn it off defiantly! Its a tricky one, I'm waiting to hear back from the physics guy about the type of magnetic disturbance/ quantity I'm working against!

  6. #6

    Default

    I was talking to one of my professors just last week and they were telling me that they were doing a shoot under the cn tower (ya im canadian haha) and their cameras were not working because all the interference from the transmitters. He told me they had to wrap there cameras with something, but I forget what. I could ask?

Similar Threads

  1. Swaping fields without swaping the content...
    By peruano in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-08-2007, 01:47 PM
  2. New and Need Advice
    By Programmers in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2007, 01:06 AM
  3. Need advice
    By Pipcia in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2006, 03:02 PM
  4. fields and frame in timeline premiere pro
    By zaerott in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2005, 11:37 PM
  5. Advice
    By mikeuk108 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 08:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •