Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking for SD DV cam for broadcast quality.

Default Looking for SD DV cam for broadcast quality.

Hello guys,

I have been browsing this site for a few days now and I have decided to post this thread.

Basically, im a student looking to delve into some film-making, will probably be alot of outside shooting and documentary style shooting. However, as a total newbie I have no idea what I'm looking for. I don't need and cutting-edge HD camcorder, I'm just looking for some recommendations for an old model, preferably larger to reduce shaking, with a good lense so the image is broadcast quality and the output preferably DV so I can edit it easily.

So does anybody have any recommendation for some models I can look for to pick up relatively cheaply?

Im hoping to spend around 500 for a used model.

Thanks /devbot.

Blog Entries

Shoulder mount vx9000e maybe? I wore out 2 of them.

First gen dv so needs to be used within its capabilities and then it performs well - can be had for much less than 500 but shit in low light so may not suit.

I would suggest a used pdx10 / pd100 / pd150 / pd170 all sony or canon xl1 / 2 / xm1 / 2

I suspect they may all be a bit over 500 apart from the pd100.

I wouldnt insist on DV cam - it is exactly the same as DV except it has a faster tape speed so only 40 mins a tape. Was developed to help comaptability issues and to be more resistant to drop outs, which are not a prob on DV really.

Blog Entries

ah, my bad, I bet you mean a dv camera, not DVCAM...

Also the last 3 ccd sd dv panasonic consumer cams were well good cameras - but cant recall the name - anyone else ?

yeah the canon XM2 is just the sort of thing im looking for, but it looks like I may have to pay nearer 700 for that. If there is further suggestions, please contribute as Im looking to spend as little as possible (being a student and all).