Thread: Cabling help needed

Default Cabling help needed

Newbie here - and total novice, so please be patient

I've just bought Pinnacle Studio Movie Box plus (USB) in an attempt to convert my old VHS tapes to DVD.

I've installed everything but am not getting the VHS connected correctly.

I have tested the pinnacle box with my camcorder using the DV cable to connect the camcoreder to the box. This works fine and I can transfer video.

But my VHS player only has a scart / Audio out LR / RF In and Out.

The pinnacle box needs input from composite cables or s-video.

I have used a scart to composite adapter then a composite cable, but I get the error that there is no valid input detected, check cables. I've tried 2 different adapters and checked the cables.

Should I be able to get output through the scart?

If I buy a scart - S-video cable should it work?

And finally - I have since noticed that I have an S-video socket on my PC graphics card, so do I need the pinnacle box at at??

Sorry if these are dumb questions!

Blog Entries

Yes, the Scart to S-Video (composite) should work. Remember you'll need to input audio too.

Got a scart to s-video with attached twin phono lead.
    Can now capture video - but only in black & white and with no sound.

Bought 2 options of cables and both does the same.

Have also tried using separate audio cables.

Any more ideas would be appreciated folks

Thanks. Was being v v stupid. ~Now got sound, but still black and white ....
    any other ideas?!

Western Europe