Thread: Video quality

1. Default Video quality

Hi all, firstly i am a total novice at this, but my question is i have recently uploaded video footage from my camcorder (panasonic sdrh 40) and have converted the files and edited in windows movie maker, i have then converted the files back and burnt to disk using Nero. When playing back on ny DVD player the quality is nowhere as good as when i plug my camcorder directly into my TV and watch it this way.

A friend suggusted getting a fiewire cable to tranfer the files from camcorder to PC, but this camcorder do'snt seem to have a firewire port even though it is only 3 months old.

Sorry if this is a bit long winded but could anyone give me advice on how to get the quality better when burning to disk.

Thanks

Your camcorder is a hard disk model and does not have a Firewire socket. It can also record onto Secure Digital memory cards. I believe the file format is a variation of mpeg which is a highly compressed video format so you are already starting off with a low quality file. What software did you use to convert from mpeg to ? so the file would open in WMM? I downloaded MPEGStreamClip1.2 which is freeware from Squared 5 - MPEG Streamclip video converter for Mac and Windows and this will open up mpeg files and allow you to covert them to avi which is a better file format for editing. If you intend using this software you first need to download QuicktimeAlt181 which is also freeware and run and install it first. It has codecs that need to be on your computer first before MPEGStreamClip1.2 can work properly. When you have the file converted to avi it will be a big file ranging from a few hundred megabytes a few gigabytes depending on the length of the video. This is normal, open it up in your editor WMM or download a 30 day trial of Adobe Premiere Elements (most up to date version) from Adobe's website and use that instead. It will also allow you to burn your dvd's without having to use another application.