Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Semi Professional Video Editor Free

  1. #1

    Default Semi Professional Video Editor Free

    I'm making a 15 minute movie. It doesn't have to be very professional, but it has to be better than windows movie maker.

    So far I have stand alone Wax 2.0 I can't find a support forum or a good tutorial other than the user guide. I also don't know if Wax is a good video editor.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you can define what you want to do (perhaps in reference to what WMM cannot do) we may be able to help.
    Wax IS good if it does what you want it to do and does it reliably. Wax is not good if you require it to do other things or it behaves erratically. You've got it. You tell us!
    Last edited by TimStannard; 10-30-2008 at 09:06 PM. Reason: "does it reliable"? - must have moved to Essex.
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default

    now that you ask, i kind of don;t know

    maybe i justneed advanced effect and transitions.
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2.00GHz
    RAM: 3.00GB
    HDD: 250GB
    GPU: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
    Graphics Memory: 358MB
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 or Better
    O/S: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
    WEI Base: 3.4
    Computer Type: Notebook

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ultimatebuster View Post
    now that you ask, i kind of don;t know

    maybe i justneed advanced effect and transitions.
    I always get worried when I read people who feel they need 'transitions'. Most video editting packages come with a multitude of different transitions. There are exceptions of course but you can generally accept thatif you use anythign other thana simple cut or a dissolve once in a while then you've done it wrong.

  5. #5

    Default

    i agree with you.

    The point is that sometimes a simple transition could be something amazing. WMM don't allow you to adjust those settings etc.

    and i also had bad exp with WMM...
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2.00GHz
    RAM: 3.00GB
    HDD: 250GB
    GPU: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
    Graphics Memory: 358MB
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 or Better
    O/S: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
    WEI Base: 3.4
    Computer Type: Notebook

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    " and i also had bad exp with WMM... " - curious.... did that bloody app 2 time you aswell??? I caught the minx in bed with imovie - I ask you!

  7. #7

    Default

    a list of thing that i need:

    zoom in on specific areas
    moving from x location to y location
    slow motion
    fast motion
    etc.

    can't think of anymore. the film is in pre production
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo T5750 2.00GHz
    RAM: 3.00GB
    HDD: 250GB
    GPU: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
    Graphics Memory: 358MB
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0 or Better
    O/S: Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
    WEI Base: 3.4
    Computer Type: Notebook

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Kings Lynn. UK
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Mills View Post
    I always get worried when I read people who feel they need 'transitions'. Most video editting packages come with a multitude of different transitions. There are exceptions of course but you can generally accept thatif you use anythign other thana simple cut or a dissolve once in a while then you've done it wrong.

    Actually that is very true, I decided to cut out the transitions altogether and the stuff I did actually looks better.... Until I hashed something up then cross faded it out ... Mind you if you watch "star wars" the first film that has quite a few nasty transitions in there,...

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqUmNbNAgXA"]YouTube- Land Rover Conversion PART 2 200tdi retrofit into discovery inc 100amp alternator upgrade[/ame]
    Last edited by TFV; 07-27-2010 at 08:40 PM. Reason: bolted on video clip

  9. #9

    Default

    [edited - I had not read the original posting correctly]

Similar Threads

  1. Any free video editor to do this...?
    By Darko74 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2008, 10:02 PM
  2. Professional Editor
    By angrydog in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-13-2006, 04:58 PM
  3. Few editing question from semi-advanced editor
    By Rough Cut in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2006, 07:31 PM
  4. Semi-oldish trailer for our semi-newish video
    By smas16 in forum User Videos
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-28-2006, 09:49 AM
  5. Training to be professional editor
    By gamesdv in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 08:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •