Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Please help, getting rid of black borders

  1. #1

    Default Please help, getting rid of black borders

    I've seen this topic posted quite a few times before but none of
    the answers have fixed my issue.
    I've tried just about everything to export (or should I say render)
    my video without 2 black borders on the top & bottom.

    When editing the border appears fine, and I know its to do with the ratio
    aspect of the file that probably causes the 2 borders to appear but
    I simply can't render a video without them accuring.
    My project at the moment is set as a 4:3 DV NTSC template, but still
    when rendering it the same settings the borders appear top and bottom.
    I have tried multiple different kinds of borders and also using Adobe
    Premiere Pro i have the same issue everytime.
    Please, any advice or tips would help.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Huntington, West Virginia USA
    Posts
    909

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WishinG View Post
    I've seen this topic posted quite a few times before but none of
    the answers have fixed my issue.
    I've tried just about everything to export (or should I say render)
    my video without 2 black borders on the top & bottom.

    When editing the border appears fine, and I know its to do with the ratio
    aspect of the file that probably causes the 2 borders to appear but
    I simply can't render a video without them accuring.
    My project at the moment is set as a 4:3 DV NTSC template, but still
    when rendering it the same settings the borders appear top and bottom.
    I have tried multiple different kinds of borders and also using Adobe
    Premiere Pro i have the same issue everytime.
    Please, any advice or tips would help.
    Thanks
    Use the "Crop" feature in Vegas and crop all of your footage into the 4:3 ratio, even though it was shot in 4:3. This will allow you to adjust out the black bars.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Hi, are you editing in a different aspect ration to the one you video in, I used Premiere 6 it had both motion settings and crop facilities, but it was very important to set the project up identical to the video capture, other wise the project was very slow in rendering, if you put a piece of video on the time line it should not need to render it, it would only have to render the transitions and the title overlay etc.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by worddigger View Post
    . . even though it was shot in 4:3.
    - WD? Where is this stated? I can't find that? All I read is that the project is set to 4x3?

    OK, black borders, top and bottom, indicates to me you have 16x9 content in a 4x3 project.

    BTW, did you shoot in 4x3? Please check your source material.

    When you say that it looks fine in Preview, just how fine is that? I'd like to see a screen grab here of what YOU can see - please?

    Grazie

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions peeps.
    The material I have been using has multiple different frame sizes,
    but I don't know if that should alter the outcome all together anyways.

    Heres a capture of the original and what it looks like when editing:
    ImageShack - Hosting :: originalcarhl7.jpg

    I couldnt capture the final piece but this is what I get after I render my edited video: ( not so much the side borders, just the top and bottom)

    ImageShack - Hosting :: letterboxfameal3.jpg

    This is what I've been longing to achieve:
    ImageShack - Hosting :: achievementir2.jpg

    (when i make a border in SV i want the border to come out even on the video, not having a letterbox type border with two thicker lines on the top&bottom)
    I've tried the stretch video to output frame size, tried the track motion-> right click-> match output aspect, I've been using pan/crop tool to fill the whole video space.
    I notice when using the maintain aspect ratio bit on the side, if I say no it fills the video but if i say yes the video comes out with the 2 thick lines that I get after rendering, could this be related to the problem??

    So basically when editing the video & border appears to be in the right place, the borders even and correct, where as after rendering the video doesn't fill
    the screen meaning the 2 heavy lines are above & below.

    If the footage I'm using is all different frame sizes does that affect the outcome?
    The stats of my current project are:

    720x480 NTSC DV
    pixel aspect ratio : 0.9091
    I'm still in the dark on what to do, weird something that looks so simple is so
    fustrating to fix, but maybe I'm turning a blind eye to something thats obvious i just don't know. I've been using Vegas for almost a year and have always had this problem.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    In the examples you are showing, your source appears to be 4:3 whereas the image of what you are trying to achieve is 16:9
    If you crop your images to 16:9 but then output it as 4:3 you will get the black top and bottom.
    I'm sure you think you're explaining clearly (a) what you are trying to achieve and (b) how you are going about it, but clearly we are having difficulty understanding.
    Can you possibly re-phrase and also do what Grazie suggested and post a screen grab?
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. Borders
    By n0s3^^ in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 08:28 AM
  2. Borders on Sony Vegas 8.0
    By amoregailkim in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2008, 03:01 PM
  3. Black Borders
    By skribe in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 05:16 PM
  4. Creating borders
    By Roger Young in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-17-2005, 07:30 AM
  5. Round Borders on Movie
    By CivilianJones in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2004, 07:10 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •