Thread: Data Rates; VirtualDub and Pinnacle

Default Data Rates; VirtualDub and Pinnacle

Hello,

I'm fairly new to video editing on computers, so please bare with me if I ask any dopey questions. But I guess we all have to start somewhere.

Anyway, I recently had a firewire 1394 installed into my computer. I'm running Windows 98 second edition. I also had a new hard drive installed to basically work as storage space for my videos.

However I did not have a new processor put in, which is where I think my problems lie.

Upon opening Pinnacle's Studio version 9 (the trial version) I tried to capture film. Unfortunately a message popped up onto screen saying that my data rate wasn't good enough; it needed to be 4444kb/s I think.

I'm guessing this means I need a quick processor? As in, data rate = processing power?

Anyhow, I installed virtualdub, recommended to me by someone, and I managed to capture some video on there. Albeit I had no sound..but that is another set of questions I shall ask another time. Also when I began capturing it commented that it could not recognise the format and wouldn't preview.

It was captured at a rate of 1500kb/s and it was kinda choppy. It was caputed as a pretty big .avi file. I played it through windows media file and I could watch it okay, although, like I said, it was a bit choppy.

I then went to try and open it in virtual dub, but it said it did not have the right files to view it.

So does anyone know why it didn't recognise the nonRGB format or whatever at the start? And does anyone know why I can't play it?

Then, to finish it off I went into pinnacle to use the editing suite and everytime I open up the .avi file to edit it the software crashes and I have to close it down.

Anyone got any idea why?

Many thanks to those that reply. And also many thanks to those who even read this.

Hi, the processor will certainly play a part, but i'm suspecting it might be the hard disc that's not fast enough

What is:

- Your processor