Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Camera Dilemma

1. Default Camera Dilemma

Hi. I'm a novice to the video industry. I have some experience in camera work. I am going to buy my start up kit very shortly and have the finance to do this.
    I want to video weddings, parties etc.
    I had considered buying a new Sony Z1. I have used this before. I think it suits my needs.
    However, a friend mentioned that camera operators who used the Z1 were moving over to the EX1.
    My question is, for the area I'm moving into does the Z1 suffice or should I think of buying the Ex1?

Thanks
    Paul

Blog Entries

The Z1 will suffice, but the ex1 is a far more capable camera in my view.

You want to charge people to do weddind vids?? Not for a year or two I hope - the industry is full of chancers who are ripping people off with rubbish product. Dont become one!

Dont forget - tripod - 400 (or two)
    Second cam for lock off shots.
    Decent gun mic - 600
    Radio mics - 400

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    You want to charge people to do weddind vids?? Not for a year or two I hope
    But if you do it for free or cheap you'll also be criticised here! (Bear in mind the crowd who post in this section are mostly Pros and, quite reasonably, they hate amateurs getting involved and soiling the reputations of all videographers)

Concensus seems to be get yourself involved with an existing wedding pro as a second cameraman/assistant and really learn the ropes before offering your services. Depends really what your "some camera work experience" includes.
    Tim

Blog Entries

Not quite...

What gets up our noses are those who think that wedding videography is an easy way to make quick money. Also we get annoyed at those who think that the "punter" is happy with mediocre quality as long as the price is cheap. All the pro-videographers who have survived a year or longer will tell you that the price isn't all that important, quality is.