Thread: questions about partitions and harddrives.

1. Default questions about partitions and harddrives.

I'm new to this and am about to buy a p.c. for my DV editing.
    I've been reading around the subject until my eyes have started bleeding at the conflicting advice and amount of previously unknown factors.
    Due to minimal knowledge, experience and brain cells, I would like to ask a few basic questions.

I'm buying an Intel 2.4quad,4Gb Ram,creative sound card and 9400 graphics card. with two 500Gb harddrives. . . That all seems Okay.
    I was all set to buy until I started reading about partitions.

Q-With two drives, do I put ;
    Ist Drive = OS in one partition + Adobe Premiere in another partition + Other Apps in another partition + Finished Video in another
    2nd Drive = all raw footage.

Do I even buy 3 drives? (only 50 extra.)
    One for Raw, one for finished and one for applications.

And what do I do with paging files which I had never heard of until last night?

These questions may be a bit confused and clearly I don't know what I'm talking about but, thanks to anyone who replies.
    I haven't even asked about whether to RAID or not yet.

Blog Entries

At the risk of the wrath of the tech brigade, I'd say you've become an unforrtunate victim of too much information. The best advice I can give you is: be organised.

Yes, people will no doubt have a whole range of advice on how to optimise your drives etc, but just as most of us go to a mechanic to get our cars fixed, I'd say leave all of the techy set up to the geeks (sorry geeks).