Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Vegas 4.0 splitting my AVI up during render

  1. #1

    Default Vegas 4.0 splitting my AVI up during render

    Hi All, I'm trying to render (2) AVI files into one AVI file with a simple crossfade but Vegas always ends up rendering 2 files. Does anybody know how I can make Vegas render a single file from this project? Please help! Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    How large are the files? My guess is you've hit the FAT32 limit of your file system. Change to NTFS.
    If that's not the case, post back with file sizes.
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default Thanks, Tim!

    The first two files I'm trying to merge are just under 4 gigs each, and the final one is about 2 gigs. The final file should be about 10gigs. How do I change to NTFS? Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    It certainly sounds like we've identified the problem. To confirm, open up My Computer (I'm assuming you're running XP) Right click on the hard drive you've got your video on and select Properties. On the "General" tab you'll find "File type" and hopefully next to that "FAT32". If it says "NTFS" then we're barking up the wrong tree. Proceed to next post. Do not pass Go. Do not collect 200.

    Assuming the file type is not NTFS, read the following Microsoft article:

    How to convert a FAT16 volume or a FAT32 volume to an NTFS file system in Windows XP

    In fact, to save you time, I've pasted the "how to" bit below.
    Please note I will accept FULL responsibility for this if the solution works and if all the data and programs on your hard drive remain intact.

    If, however, it eats all your hard work, personal bank account details, videos and all the pornography you've amassed during a lifetime of surfing, don't blame me. I never told you to do this. You've never heard of me and if you claim to have done so, I shall deny it in court and cause unpleasant things to happen to your family and friends and get Mark W to post a video nasty of it all on YouTube.

    In other words, as with any major update on a computer, please take all sensible precautions including backing up your data first.

    From the Microsoft article (sorry about the formatting):


    How to convert a FAT volume or a FAT32 volume to NTFS

    Note Although the chance of corruption or data loss during the conversion is minimal, we recommend that you perform a backup of the data on the volume that you want to convert before you start the conversion.

    To convert an existing FAT or FAT32 volume to NTFS, follow these steps: 1.Click Start, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command Prompt.2.At the command prompt, type the following, where drive letter is the drive that you want to convert:convert drive letter: /fs:ntfs
    For example, type the following command to convert drive E to NTFS: convert e: /fs:ntfs
    Note If the operating system is on the drive that you are converting, you will be prompted to schedule the task when you restart the computer because the conversion cannot be completed while the operating system is running. When you are prompted, click YES.3.When you receive the following message at the command prompt, type the volume label of the drive that you are converting, and then press ENTER:The type of the file system is FAT.
    Enter the current volume label for drive drive letter
    4.When the conversion to NTFS is complete, you receive the following message at the command prompt:Conversion complete
    5.Quit the command prompt.


    Good Luck
    Tim

  5. #5

    Default Timstannard is the man!!!

    You, "sir" (pun absolutely intended) are my knight in shining silicone! This solution worked like a charm and I can continue with my project. I shall graze the posts in a humble attempt to "pay forward" the immeasurable service you have done for me, but in the meantime I will ask if there's anything I can do to pay you back? A million shiny thank yous to you, my friend. You're a genius.

  6. #6

    Default

    Nice one Tim! Well done!!! Well set out and engaging to read too.

    I really like it when people get what they want.

    Grazie

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brock View Post
    A million shiny thank yous to you, my friend. You're a genius.
    Delighted to have helped. Knowing that we solved the problem is thanks enough. Now, if you'll excuse me I have to be off to sort out the west's financial crisis
    Tim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yea, well spotted but.... " my knight in shining silicone " - now that makes me think completely the wrong thing ! lols.

Similar Threads

  1. Vegas Render Speeds
    By marrs in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 08:44 AM
  2. Cant Render In Sony Vegas
    By BeavLaH in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 09:56 AM
  3. Can I render H.264 from Vegas 6.0?
    By [N2] in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 12:50 PM
  4. Can't seem to render in Vegas 6
    By steveandbelinda in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2005, 12:28 AM
  5. Help me with Vegas/ render as WMV/ issues
    By toddk in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 09:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •