Thread: Laptop spec

Default Laptop spec

Hi,
    I am a newbie to the forum, I have a Sony TRV245 digital 8 camcorder. For certain reasons I am constrained to use a laptop for video editing. I am planning to buy a new laptop. I do not intend doing heavy editing but am certainly interested in capturing my videos onto DVD without lost frames, etc. I have identified a laptop that fits in with the general requirements for video editing.( ..specs at Acer 1356 LMi at click here).
    My only concern is the IDE ATA100 hard drive which is a 4200 rpm drive. Is it suffecient for capture of video without dropping frames ? Would appreciate any comments..
    Thanks
    John

Hello.... any firendly soul out there ..maybe Ive asked something stoooopid......

Blog Entries

Not a stooopid question at all And one gets asked quite a lot! Laptops tend to come with 5200RPM drives... and many people that complain of dropped frames are trying to capture to 5200RPM drives Now whether this is because older/lower spec drives tend to have 5200 drives or it's just the drive itself that's causing the problems is something I'm not sure of!

When I get the time (and a new 4-pin to 4-pin firwewire cable!) I'll test and post the results

Thanks Marc.... will wait for an update ...
    Cheers

I would like to know the answer to this as well. I’m looking at replacing my antiquated desktop with a Toshiba Portege M200. It comes with a 5400 drive, but I could upgrade to a 7200. Is it worth the extra money?

James