Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pause Clip but keep Movie Running

Default Pause Clip but keep Movie Running

What I want to do is pause a clip but keep the overall movie running so that I can add text onto it. Basically, I've got a 5 second clip, what I want to do is play the clip and pause it after 3 seconds then add text on top of that screenshot for another 3 seconds then play it again and remove text for the last 2 seconds of the clip, is this possible?

Sorry if I'm unclear, I'm very new to Sony Vegas.

I'm using Vegas Pro 8.0.

Quote Originally Posted by Yazzy View Post
    What I want to do is pause a clip but keep the overall movie running so that I can add text onto it. Basically, I've got a 5 second clip, what I want to do is play the clip and pause it after 3 seconds then add text on top of that screenshot for another 3 seconds then play it again and remove text for the last 2 seconds of the clip, is this possible?

Sorry if I'm unclear, I'm very new to Sony Vegas.

I'm using Vegas Pro 8.0.
    That's easy. Find the place on the time line where you want a freeze frame of the video. Then, look for a disk shaped icon above the preview window. When you put your mouse cursor over it you will see a prompt saying "save snapshot to file"

Once you saved the shot a copy will be placed automatically in your project media. What you then need to do is insert another video track ABOVE your movie track. Place your photo on the time where you want it to be stationary. Stretch/shrink it to cover the amount of time required. Then, insert another video track above that one and on it place your text, as needed.

Blog Entries

I sonetimes do it that way or if the fancy takes me I might use a velocity envalope. If you do it this way make sure you first change your clip to a ' subclip' .

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    If you do it this way make sure you first change your clip to a ' subclip' .
    Interesting. Why?
    Tim

Blog Entries