Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dedicated Hard Drive Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12

    Default Dedicated Hard Drive Question

    Warning: Another 'newbie' question...

    I took the plunge and purchased APP CS3. Of course, the program requires a "Dedicated 7200 RPM hard drive for DV and HDV editing; striped disk array storage (RAID 0) for HD; SCSI disk subsystem preferred". My system currently has only one hard drive. (I'm assuming that the program will not allow me to edit video until I install the second drive.) How can I make sure that I purchase the correct drive, and meet the associated requirements?
    "He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends." - Oscar Wilde

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jess Wunman View Post
    Warning: Another 'newbie' question...

    I took the plunge and purchased APP CS3.
    I hope you kept the receipt if you bought it very recently. If you did then be aware that Adobe just anounced the CS4 version to be shipping at the end of October. You may find you are eliigible for a free upgrade. Odobe often do this for people who buy their s/w just before a new version comes out.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jess Wunman View Post
    Of course, the program requires a "Dedicated 7200 RPM hard drive for DV and HDV editing; striped disk array storage (RAID 0) for HD; SCSI disk subsystem preferred". My system currently has only one hard drive. (I'm assuming that the program will not allow me to edit video until I install the second drive.) How can I make sure that I purchase the correct drive, and meet the associated requirements?
    You'll be just fine as you are. Extra drives will simply offer better performance that's all. IUt will not stop you editting right now.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks Alan!

    It's good to know that I can dive right in. I'll give it a shot. In the future, when I add a drive, how can I make sure that I do it right? (i.e. "...striped disk array storage (RAID 0)...")

    Jess
    "He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends." - Oscar Wilde

Similar Threads

  1. External hard-drive question.....
    By Violator in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 04:45 AM
  2. 2nd Hard Drive
    By rpwall in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-03-2005, 07:53 PM
  3. HOW DO I? "Dedicated 7200 RPM drive for video" an
    By OnTheWay in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2005, 08:06 PM
  4. Hard Drive Help
    By ntreacy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 03:24 PM
  5. NEW HARD DRIVE
    By teal.blue.n.silver in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2004, 02:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •