Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Video editing card or dual processor

Default Video editing card or dual processor

Just want to know if anybody knows what is the best option: Buying a new video editing card (like Matrox) or upgrading my Pc to a dual processor.

I want to have better performance in my Premiere's renders, and of course, I can't afford both new card & dual processor.

Thanks in advance

Blog Entries

Personally, I wouldn't buy a card. Why? When the next generation of software comes along, it's not guarenteed to be supported. It also won't improve general, overall performance. Then there's the horry stories of proprietry codecs.

If you regulary update, use the PC solely for editing and have money to burn, get a card. I spend all my budget on non-specific hardware.

Just my opinion. Others with cards will tell you different.

Dual processors will help, as will more memory if it's specifically rendering you are looking at. Now, I am not an expert on Premiere but I think it only does CPU rendering. I don't think it does GPU renders (I'm sure Marc, Millsy, and everyone else will soon let me know if that's an incorrect assumption). However, based on my assumption an upgrade to your graphics card would probably be money down the kazzie.
    Lloyd

That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

Blog Entries

Graphics card will add nadda (well, it will help in so far as a dedicated card would free up RAM). I was talking about an editing card such as an RT.X100. Millsy will argue it's a god send. I will argue that they're more trouble than they're worth.

But as I don't have one, I would say that