Thread: Advice required

Default Advice required - Formats, splitting, software, output

As a newbie I need some advice for a video conversion and editing project.

I have one long VOB file that I wish to convert, split accurately(!) (to get correct parts), re-join, add titles, add logo (visible permanently), add music, perhaps reconvert.

I then wish to add this file to my website, to Youtube, and to be able to email the file. Note that I see this as being 2 or 3 different output files.

1/ A good quality uploaded to my website
    2/ Perhaps the same file upped to Youtube (let them do the conversions of quality/size)
    3/ A smaller file to email.

I am trying to research methods and choices to be made to do this as easily as possible.

Three questions:

1/ I have started by converting to avi and have found that I cannot accurately split the file - problems with keyframes... So I figured if I convert to some other format (from the VOB) it may be possible...?? Can someone advise?

2/ I also figured that the file files should be in flash format...? Again any advice would be cool..

3/ And if anyone (!) could subjectively(!) suggest the best software to use for each stage would be good - probably the simplest that will do just the job required, I really don't want to have to learn how to use flash or premiere unless really necessary.

Free beer tomorrow for anyone that can give me pointers...
    Last edited by glinscott; 09-18-2008 at 10:01 AM.

More reading has turned up more questions!

So splitting works easier if the codec H.264 is not used, I have been advised to convert from VOB to avi with Xvid or Divx codecs.

Is this good advice?

Do I need someone to specify the conversion format and codecs used?

Western Europe