Thread: why isn't digital video standardised?

Default why isn't digital video standardised?

hi i'm a fairly newbie to this editing milarky,
    it all started when i was doin a bit of travelling and wanted to edit some holiday vids.
    at the time i used wondows moviemaker and captured through usb from a panasonic nv gs17 - dv tape.

the laptop i used, and still am is a steam driven dell inspiron 1000
    ...actually it isn't too bad, i'm running windows xp, it's got 3.2ghz single core processor and 256mb ram although i've ordered another 256 upgrade for it. (think the max is 512 total)

the first videos i made were easy enough to complete and burn to vcd.
    i used ulead dvd studio to burn to vcd... then i bought an external dvd burner and manged to burn dvds of the same projects.
    these were not the best quality though as i could only capture from usb via moviemaker at 320 or so res.

then i got my hands on a copy of premire and filmed some live music but premire wouldn't recognise the camera through usb so i bought a pcmca firewire card.
    now i can capture at full quality into premirere.

now here come some issues i've been having and researching all the different rendering and interlacing stuff which i still son't fully understand...

anyway... first thing is the lines that i've discovered to something to do with interlacing.
    so.. am i right in thinking... dv input from camcorder will be in pal format - 25fps
    interlaced - bottom field first?
    so i need to set the premiere project to match?

that's all fair enough... i asumed all settings were correct as the first few songs (each song i filmed from 2 different gigs, edited the different shots and saved as one video) looked ok but i think only one song came out showing the lines

not massively noticeable but enough to be annoying cos somethings obviously not right.