Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Firewire question for Canon XM2 ???

  1. #1

    Default Firewire question for Canon XM2 ???

    Hello everyone, I just got a Canon XM2, but it didnt come with a firewire. My question is which one do I get, any ideas? I keep reading about 4 pin to 6 pin, or 4 pin to usb or 6 pin to 6 pin... its just very confusing. From what I could read my camera has a 4 pin connection, is that correct? I am unsure as to what connection I need for my computer. I'd appreciate any help or suggestions.

    Thank yo so much for your help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Blog Entries


    If you have a desk top PC, then it's likely the firewire port will be six pin. For a laptop it's likely to be a four pin. Put simply, if the firewire port on you PC is the same size as that on the cam, then you need a 4 pin to 4 pin. If the PC port is bigger, you need a 4 pin to 6 pin cable.

  3. #3


    The Canon XM2 has a 4-pin socket.

  4. #4


    Depending on your usage, what I would also suggest is that you get a cheap CHEAP SD camera to act as your capture deck. It will save the wear and tear on the XM2.

    Up to you.


Similar Threads

  1. Need help connecting canon mv630i to PC via Firewire
    By M!ke in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 10:37 AM
  2. Canon ZR-500 & Firewire
    By ashleenilsson in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 08:46 PM
  3. Help!! Canon XL1 Firewire issue
    By Nalehp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 10:31 PM
    By Ferryman in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 11:15 AM
  5. Canon MV550i - Firewire
    By Daisy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2005, 05:11 PM

Tags for this Thread


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts