Thread: Can't figure out what disabled half of my tracks in Vegas 8.0 Pro

Angry Can't figure out what disabled half of my tracks in Vegas 8.0 Pro

I'm still new to using this software (I've only played with it for a few days), but I'm having lots and lots of fun just putting random videos together. I'm working on a "video tribute" to one of my favorite cartoon voice actors and all seems well...until I find that half of BOTH my audio AND video tracks are greyed out/disabled. What the heck happened?!

I've tried muting/unmuting, selecting/deselecting, NOTHING is working and I'm growing frustrated quite quickly as I have no idea how I did this.

Meh..I think I figured it out *had to set the audio tracks to solo mode?*

Perhaps someone could explain why? Please pardon my ignorance.

Quote Originally Posted by Pashune View Post
    Perhaps someone could explain why?
    Exactly what is your question? Is it?

1] Why use SOLO?

. . or . .

2] Why are you having to set to SOLO to hear?

If it is 1] : Then I use SOLO to isolate ONE specific or several SPECIFIC tracks.

If it is 2] : You WILL hear a SOLO track because you have elected to hear it. That is the purpose to using SOLO tracks.

Now, if you cleared-down, unchecked ALL previously SOLO-ed tracks, then you would hear ALL tracks equally.

Vegas has the ability to provide us with many many tracks. Having options to pick the tracks we want offers, at least THIS editor, some sanity!!

I think you are making more of this than needs be?

Best regards

Grazie

Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    Exactly what is your question? Is it?

1] Why use SOLO?

. . or . .

2] Why are you having to set to SOLO to hear?

If it is 1] : Then I use SOLO to isolate ONE specific or several SPECIFIC tracks.

If it is 2] : You WILL hear a SOLO track because you have elected to hear it. That is the purpose to using SOLO tracks.