Thread: adding tele lens to cannon md160

Default adding tele lens to cannon md160

Im hoping that someone out there could give me some advice on getting a tele lens to fit my cannon md160 digital video camcorder. I'm new to this game, and had the camcorder for 6 months. Really pleased with the camera,but i want to extend the optical zoom. I film my friends out surfing,so i want to get closer to the action without getting wet! The 35mm zoom is great, but alot of my footage is done on maximum zoom and the quality is not as sharp as i would like.I have seen lots of different types of add on tele zoom lens's that you can either screw or clip on. My camera has no screw threads on the lens casing,does anyone know if there is a lens that will fit that wont break the bank. Thanks.

This is what I've made up for shooting kitesurfers, well almost:

In reality the front, the bell shaped end, is best to not be there.

Before I expand on that though, your comment about the images not being sharp at full zoom worries me, as all a device like this will do is multiply the focal length, not correct a sharpness problem.

Have you some existing footage at full zoom I can check out?

And before you do that, what kind of support are you using for the camera, i.e. tripod etc?

Default tele zoom on cannon md160

Thanks Jerry for your quick reply. I use a tripod for my filming,its nothing fantastic but its pretty solid. Will try and send you a couple of video stills,one on full zoom, the other about half zoom. The video stills are just over 1mega pixel, will this be why the stills on full zoom are not very clear. Any adice would be welcome. Thanks, Tom

Before you do that, we are talking optical zoom are we not? If you're trying to work with digital zooms, the harsh sounding advice is forget it, it's always no good. Using converter lenses is the answer.

Default tele lens