Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hard disk camcorder or not???

Default hard disk camcorder or not???

hi

i've the same question as MANY...and feeling totally confused, so any advice please!

I am a student looking for a camcorder to make recordings as part of a research project. It'll be indoor recordings, of approx. 5 hours a day (no time in between to be downloading etc). I basically need it for watching back to record observations. The sound needs to be good and the picture decent but not amazing.

I guess I'll use it for travles and family videos too seen as I'll have one!

A shop guy recommended the sony dcr sr35E, and I found the JVC everio in my searches ... recommendation was based on fact i could record up to 20 hrs on the sony, BUT obvioulsy i have discovered the bad reviews about the difficulties / impossibilities in converting .mod files to readable ones (and i'm not technical?!) and the very short battery life...

SO any good opinions on the above camcorders or recommendations for something different?
    AND, suggestions for getting around the short battery life...naive question...can I record with the camcorder plugged into the mains?

My budget: up to around £300.

THANKS SO MUCH!

if you have the possibility to keep ur camcorder plugged in a computer while shooting... ur problems are solved...
    all u need is:
    - cheap minidv cam
    - firewire cable
    - a large hard disk (1 terabite is for 200$ tops)
    - editing software to capture (the nice thing is that u don't even have to press record on ur cam, just record on ur pc when the cam is turned on)
    The child has grown
    The dream is gone