Thread: Vegas - Colour issue

Default Vegas - Colour issue

Hey all.

I've been using Vegas for a few months now but I only use the basic editing and effects tools nothing special so i'm not brilliant with it.

When I import videos in and add a sound/music file I don't usually have a problem, preview and render with the final video looking just how I wanted.
    Recently when I add videos the colours seem to blur and sort of appear as boxed and really bad quality. This happens at the more action/colour parts, it only appears for 1-2 seconds but every so often and ruins the videos. I've never had this problem before and have no clue how to prevent it. As well as this (although not a big issue I just avoid adding effects) if I add some effect like lense flare etc the video will move slow and stutter while the effect persists.

Has anyone had any experience with this issue? Help is really appreciated so I can get back to making more videos

Do you mean whilst previewing? It's not uncommon for the program to reduce image quality in an effort to keep time flowing whilst it's carrying out all of the processing needed to apply the effect in real time, Premiere does this too. On my old machine some effects would actually disappear altogether, and if you paused it the effect would only be applied to the frame showing, then disapear again as it was re-started.

If this has started happening recently it might be worth checking out the health of your computers memory, over time all manner of rubbish can end up being shoved into memory on startup and programs running in the background. Try something like 'CCleaner', can work wonders if you clean all the dross off your comp first, then use the 'Registry issues' facility, I clean my systems at least once a week and irrespective of my not changing anything it'll find something each time. Restart after cleaning.