Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Editing HD footy from JVC Everio, tons of problems

Default Editing HD footy from JVC Everio, tons of problems

Alright, first off I hope im in the right section to start. Im trying to decide on what program would be best for editing...
    Since this is my first time in this forum I guess Ill just give a rundown on what I have and what im trying to do. Were making a 15-20 movie about whatever, not some home videos. I just need basic editing, music, sounds effects, some video effects in Adobe AE (really just for muzzle flashes). Im not a super pro or anything, Ive done editing on an oldschool iMac using iMovie and FinalCut, which seemed to be infintely more simple and less frustrating than what im running into now..

Im shooting with a JVC Everio GZ-HD7 camcorder. I need to find a program that can (smoothly!) import, edit and export while hopefully keeping at least 1280x720 reso. I mean why even shoot in HD if I cant keep it that quality. I can live with lesser quality for burning to DVD, but Id like to keep the master film or w/e in HD so I can upload to vimeo first off, and then if I ever get a HDDVD burner in the future I can throw it on that.

I have Premiere CS3 3.0 and After Effects, best case scenario id like to be able to use that. I like the timeline and tools Premiere gives me, I find it easy to navigate and it seems professional but pretty straight forward at the same time. First problem is my HD7 gives me TOD files which Premiere does not support. I have to convert these to AVI first off using Ulead 11.5 or WinAVI. Ulead sucks for editing, cutting clips and stuff. And it seems hard to organize all my clips.