Thread: Canon XM1 - XLR box?

Default Canon XM1 - XLR box?

Hi Folks

Sorry folks but I am a complete newbie at this kind of thing, so if my questions donít make any sense I apologise beforehand.

I work for a community organisation and weíve recently done some video work. We have two cameras at Sony HVR-A1E, which we bought recently; we were also given a Canon XM1, which I understand it much older.

Someone said that to be able to use the Canon we would need an XLR box, which costs a couple of hundred pounds. Previous to that someone said that we just needed some kind of adapter.

I donít want to have to spend money on items we donít need so would really appreciate some advice. My understanding is this is something to do with stereo sound?????

But as I explained earlier I donít really have a clue, all help much appreciated.

As I understand it the Mic input on the XM1 is a stereo mini jack. Canon do make an adaptor that is powered from the shoe that gives you two mono XLR sockets both of which have phantom power available for powering pro condenser mics.

Depending on the mic/mics you want to use you may or may not need this. If you want to use condenser mics that require 48V phantom power (as MOST pro mics do) then you will need one) If however you can manage with a dynamic mic or a condenser that is powered by an internal battery, then the right kind of adapter is all that is required.

Mics that fall into the latter category that come to mind are the ubiquitous Shure SM58 vocal mic, (dynamic) the Rode videomic (internally powered condenser) the shure would require an XLR - Mini jack cable, the Rode already is suitable for mini-jack operation.