Thread: making a wedding vid(dvd)

Default making a wedding vid(dvd)

im trying to make a wedding video for my sister and collected all the clips that she wants...then im using ulead video for the editting

now when im done i go to creat video file......when its done redering the size
    is i had to trim it did it agagin and im at 4.5gig..still to big to put on a i rendered again and im at 4.5????????

when i put a blank dvd in it says the size is 4.4gig...its sems whatever i reneder it to its still to big???

need help ASAP please

Western Europe

You should be able to get your video onto a standard dvd disc. Instead of trimming it you need to apply some more compression, try it in tiny steps as you want to keep the quality as high as possible. I don't use Ulead so I can't give specific settings but try the compression settings and see how it goes.

N. florida

I am no expert (this is obvious) but personal experience is that the dvd authoring or disc creation process adds overhead that affects how big your original program can be to fit on a single layer 4.7Gig disc.

Usually around 3.8 or 3.9 Gig is about all your original program can be to fit on a 4.7Gig disc.

Two Solutions

One - Since you want this very special family event to have highest quality possible you can split the program into two parts for a two disc program - like Pre-Ceremony scenes and Wedding Scenes on one disc and Reception on the second.

Two - Instead of creating a dvd after editing choose the option of creating a DVD Folder. By selecting dvd folder you are not limited to a file size that will fit on a dvd disc so you will get the complete wedding program at full quality.

Then open your dvd folder in DVDShrink. DVDShrink is a free download that is simply great for compressing dvd files just enough so that they will fit on a 4.7Gig disc. However, the more compression required the more likely you will see a degradation of the image quality but you should try this and see for yourself.