Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: video editing help

  1. #1

    Default video editing help

    hey guys, my goal is to re-create the sony playstation 3 intro logo, the one where it says "playstation 3" across in white in a large font, then right after it makes a sound and has this weird blue/white ribbon that bends and transforms around constantly all over the screen.

    id like to re-create that ribbon, i already have all the sounds i need for it, and the easy part which is the font, but i'm having problems with the blue/white ribbon. i don't even know where to start.. i need it to be dvd quality so i can't film the ps3, and i need it just its self. if i were to somehow record the screen using a dvd recorder it wouldnt be long enough because it shows some text pretty much right away, so that is why i need to re-create it instead of just capture it.

    any help please!!! i really need to do this, also if anyone can help me with making a menu that looks like the ps3 menu with the icons, like how theres a list of icons that goes horizonal, but each icon when selected has another list of icons that opens up that goes vertical, i need help with that too!!

    thanks so much.
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

  2. #2

    Default

    anyone???????
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

  3. #3

    Default

    I dont think your ever reproduce it exactly - if I were you, I would go to istockphoto.com as they have loads of videos there of that nature.

    If you do want to do it yourself I would imagine it would invole using a partical emiter being parented to the movement of a null object - but as I said - it will be difficult to recreate it exactly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South Devon
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Mybe not 'film' the PS3, what about using a capture card to digitise the TV signal outputted from it?

  5. #5

    Default

    i tried that at the beginning, but the text and menu buttons show up to fast so i wouldnt be able to use it. there's really like 2 seconds where its just the ribbon, any other time theres something over it.

    i'm losing hope in this haha, thanks though
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    South Devon
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Ahh, ok, I've not seen the actual thing.

    So, does it go through a complete cycle in that two seconds, or is it a more random thing?

    It does feel like it's a complete re-draw though tbh.

  7. #7

    Default

    it is like a screensaver, it transforms around endlessly untill you stop it and start it again, it randomly keeps transforming, check this youtube video to see what it looks like with the menu buttons and everything.

    what i did was make a blue bar in photoshop, then i transformed it around over 30 seconds, then i copy and pasted it right after and reversed it, so that it would make a loop effect. the one i made looks like the real thing, but its such poor quality.
    i uploaded a short clip of it. you'll see what i mean. remember i need it to be dvd quality.

    PS3 VIDEO TEST

    it looks pretty good, but another problem is if it is going to loop as the background video in the dvd menu, then i can't have the sound or any text, i need the sound to come in only on the first one, and same with the text. the only way i could think of doing it was playing a short video of it at the begining, then after it finishes once it goes to the dvd menu which just has the ribbon looping in the background. but i have no idea how to make it so when you put in the dvd. it starts playing the video right away, then when that finishes it goes to the menu.
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

  9. #9

    Default

    wow, thanks for finding that.

    appreciate that so much
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

  10. #10

    Default

    alright so i finally got the blue ribbon to how i like it, but now my problem is creating the dvd menu buttons to look and act like they do in the playstation 3.

    can anyone help me with that?
    Bunt Studios:

    Specs:
    Acer Aspire Intel Core 2 Q6600 Quad
    2.4 GHz Processer
    500GB SATA HD
    300GB IDE External HD (usb)
    2GB DDR2 RAM
    16x DVD DL Burner
    ATI Radeon X1650SE PCI-E Graphics Card
    Dual Monitor (19" DVI LCD, 19" VGA LCD)
    Vista Home

    Adobe Production Studio CS3
    Steinberg Cubase SX3

    Sony VX-1000 with Modded Raynox MX-3000 Lens

Similar Threads

  1. editing a video inside a video... fixed distance
    By Mow in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-12-2008, 08:22 PM
  2. Video editing software that allow me to speed up the video how i wish to
    By yosemite in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2007, 10:22 AM
  3. Video Editing workshop by Emmy Award Winner - Sharing in the video industry
    By www.visualise.tv in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-20-2007, 09:06 AM
  4. sports video editing software or just a video editor
    By upi44 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2006, 11:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •