Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best stabilisation

1. Default Best stabilisation

Hi,

I have a Sony HD-SR10e and I'm thinking of buying a Sony HD1000 to start a small, part-time videography business (start-up money is definitely an object).

My problem is, I'm not sure what sort of stabilisation to use for hand held work. I like the look of the Glidecam 4000 for the HD1000 but think the camera may be too bulky for it.

The Manfrotto Fig Rig has been recommended as a possible alternative but being a newbie I'm not sure which way to turn and which would get me best value for both cameras.

Any help very much appreciated.

Matt (Goldfinger)

Blog Entries

Hi Matt. Wait a while, get yourself down to the IOV show and try out a few for yourself. Personally I think the fig rig is a pile of steaming dog poo. Take your camera with you so you can test out the options in a genuine way. See how difficult to balance etc.

Blog Entries

The HD1000 is a shoulder held camera - this is far better for stability than a fig rig - it would be worse.
    The fig rig has it's followers but to me it looks restrictive and pointless.

Blog Entries

That hd1000 has 'wedding vidder' written all over it.
    I am a big fan of shoulder cams so i am pleased it has been made - looks like the spiritual sucessor to the vx9000e - I have 2 of those in the back of a cupboard somewhere.

5. Default No weddings here

Cheers for the advice guys - I'm down in Cornwall so don't know whether making the show is do-able or not but it's god to hear advice anyway.

No weddings here by the way, I'm concentrating on promotional video for local businesses !! Starting out but hey, we've all got to start somewhere !

Do you think then that the Sony HD1000 and SR10-E are OK places to start camera wise and what stabilisation would you guys recommend then in the grand scheme of things? Think I'm definitely going to need something!

Cheers again

Goldfinger (Matt)

Blog Entries