Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: using firewire in video capture

  1. #1

    Default using firewire in video capture

    I have two questions:

    Does a firewire cardbus that has 2 ports (used in a laptop PCMCIA slot) offer full firewire bandwidth to the devices connected to each of its two ports, or is the bandwidth divided?

    Does anyone have a suggestion as to which firewire cardbus might be optimal for a Compaq Presario 1400T using a Canopus ADVC100 for analogue video capture?

    Thanks!
    Hank

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: using firewire in video capture

    Quote Originally Posted by hankduck
    Does a firewire cardbus that has 2 ports (used in a laptop PCMCIA slot) offer full firewire bandwidth to the devices connected to each of its two ports, or is the bandwidth divided?
    I would assume it is shared. Only an assumption

    Quote Originally Posted by hankduck
    Does anyone have a suggestion as to which firewire cardbus might be optimal for a Compaq Presario 1400T using a Canopus ADVC100 for analogue video capture?
    Given that firewire is a standard, I would assume they would all be created equal.

  3. #3

    Default assumptions

    Greetings Marc;

    I asked the question about firewire cardbuses sharing the bandwidth of each of their ports because I was informed by a knowledgeable person that USB cardbuses with more than 1 port share the total bandwidth accessible to the bus with each port.

    As the old saying goes:

    To assume may make an a** out of you and me.

    Hank

  4. #4

    Default continuing

    and, as I forgot to mention, I was also told that based on the particularities of firewire, bandwidth is also shared, as you confirmed in your assumption.

    However, I was hoping. before spending more sheckels, that I could get an informed opinion.

    Hank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I think the difference with firewire is that one peripheral won't act as a bottleneck, i.e they can all transfer at different rates.

  6. #6

    Default accepted

    Thanks!

    Hank

Similar Threads

  1. Capture on firewire with XP
    By jacobvz in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 10:07 AM
  2. windows XP not allowing video capture from firewire!
    By mrtee in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 10:45 AM
  3. video capture worse with firewire than USB !!
    By valeriesmith in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-27-2005, 03:00 PM
  4. A/V out of sync - s-Video capture and firewire
    By theboss in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2004, 10:22 PM
  5. NEED HELP ON HOW TO CAPTURE VIDEO WITHOUT FIREWIRE
    By Gwenny The Vegie in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-01-2004, 10:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •