Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Skipping & Choppy video playback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    montréal
    Posts
    2

    Default Skipping & Choppy video playback

    . canon gl2
    . intel core2 Solo processor
    . 2gb of ram
    . 30gb of disk space remaining (after full video transfer)
    . premiere pro

    I noticed the skipping/choppy video during the capturing session, i thought it was just the during transfer processing ... however, my video ended choppy & skips alot during playback ... anyone has experienced the same issue ?

    thanks alot
    my first post : ) looking forward to many more

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    109

    Default

    obviously your problem is with the capture:
    - the original tape could be ruined (try playing it back directly from ur cam to ur tv screen to make sure it's good).
    - it the tape is good, the problem must be with ur connection... maybe ur firewire cable or its jack in the pc isn't perfect... try capturing with a different cable or through a different jack...

    good luck
    The child has grown
    The dream is gone

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    montréal
    Posts
    2

    Default

    wow .. if the tape is screwed then i am definitely screwed... this is for someone's wedding ... eff.. ok.. i'll check it out.. thanks alot

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I would be far more inclined to do some housekeeping tasks such as defragging the machine. It's surprising how little things like that can make a huge difference to performance. Another solution could be to buy an external hard drive and capture to that. Plenty of space to play around with and they're as cheap as chips these days.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Your Intel core2 Solo processor, what speed is that running at? Also your hard disk needs defragmenting if you haven't done that already, I can't remember just off hand how big of a scratch disk Adobe Premiere needs but you do need to free up more space on your hard disk. I would go for a second internal hard disk (as large as funds allow and use it for video capture only) if you are using a desktop computer but if it's a laptop then try an external one.

Similar Threads

  1. Video jumping and skipping
    By creep in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 09:29 PM
  2. All of a Sudden I Have Choppy Playback
    By Raj O Mac in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 09:51 AM
  3. Any ideas on why my video playback is choppy?
    By sara_dippity in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 06:43 AM
  4. Choppy/delayed playback
    By Phil H in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 02:03 AM
  5. Video skipping
    By BlindApex in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 01:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •