Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Premiere 6.0 shows black screen w/ a X when viewing in Progam monitor

  1. #1

    Default Premiere 6.0 shows black screen w/ a X when viewing in Progam monitor

    Hi I'm new to Adobe Premiere 6.0. I imported my clips in .avi format, put them on the timeline but when I press play in the program monitor I only see an "X" and a black screen. I hear sound when it's playing but I see nothing. Please help!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    109

    Default

    you really should upgrade to premiere pro (cs3 if possible)... it will make ur life easier... trust me...
    The child has grown
    The dream is gone

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks but I can't afford an upgrade at this point in time. I wish

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    109

    Default

    fair enough... well what's the source of ur avi... maybe premiere doesn't have the proper codec to run such avi...
    The child has grown
    The dream is gone

  5. #5

    Default

    Do you have any effects on the clip that is in the timeline?? What colour is the X??

  6. #6

    Default

    Hope I don't sound pompous, but vanillabean sounds to be quite the newbie sooo...

    A CODEC [EnCODEr/DECoder] is a piece of software that is used to tell the computer system how to combine the video & audio streams into a single file; taking into account a sackful of technical specs such as how to interpret color, frame rate, audio bitrate, etc.

    There are I dunno how many different CODECs floating around that mix & match different encoding methodologies. It sounds to me as though your system can interepret & play the audio stream, but doesn't have the proper codec to read the video stream.

    Code:
    http://www.videohelp.com/
    has plenty of FREE tools to read video files & identify the particulars of what you need to play the file.
    ~Applied Metaphysician~

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sami View Post
    you really should upgrade to premiere pro (cs3 if possible)... it will make ur life easier... trust me...

    Thanks Sami!! I just upgraded to cs3 and it has made editing so much easier!!

Similar Threads

  1. Viewing Digital8 on pc monitor
    By les9424 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 07:40 PM
  2. Full screen viewing prior to rendering?
    By stuartm in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 02:16 PM
  3. My render comes with black screen between clips im Premiere 6
    By lionheart75 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 09:03 PM
  4. Viewing Timeline on second Monitor / TV
    By jjchad in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 12:54 PM
  5. Viewing video on computer monitor is jerky.
    By Goggle Eyed Starter in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2004, 11:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •