Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How do I add video pauses or frame freezes?

  1. #1

    Default How do I add video pauses or frame freezes?

    Hi all. I want to pause a certain frame in a video for an ammount of seconds. What I mean is, I want to duplicate a frame in a video for lets say 2 seconds, so it gives an impression that the video is stoped, even tho it's still playing. The video will of course now be longer, but that's not a problem.

    I'm using TMPGenc, however I can't find this feature. I can cut down a frame from a video, but theres only a "duplication" option. I would have to press that command about 100 times for a 'pause' of just 4 seconds on a 25fps video, so you see my problem here.

    Are there video editing programs out there that support this function? Duplicate a frame for a certain ammount of time?

    Thanx for reading, hope you can help me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,849
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Most video editing software allows you to import a still and display that for as long as you like. I can't think of a basic commercial one that doesn't.
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    Most video editing software allows you to import a still and display that for as long as you like. I can't think of a basic commercial one that doesn't.
    Yeah I found out a few hours ago. Forgot to post it up here. I just take a screenshot of one frame and then "import slideshow" inside TMPGenc and set the duration. Easy as that.

  4. #4

    Default

    I'm running into a bit of a problem. The still frame's I capture from the video are just a bit blurry when the video is played. The frame that was captured and saved in a .bmp file isn't blurry at all, i've opened it externally and it looks ok. But when I add it as a slideshow into the movie and play the movie, the image appears to be a little blurry. The sharp edges are kind of smudged.

    The image is the same size as the video, it's not a problem of scale.. Any advice?

    Here's the picture of the frame i've exported. It was in .bmp format but ive converted to png to display it on the forum.




    And when the movie is exported (ive tried a dozen different formats and encoders with same results):



    As you can see, that single image now appears a bit blurry in the actual exported video. The rest of the video is allways sharp, just like seen on the first example image.
    Last edited by Malevol3nt; 07-30-2008 at 03:33 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Pauses between some frames
    By Kameron in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2008, 06:51 PM
  2. Capture video computer freezes?
    By MichelleM in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-06-2007, 11:35 PM
  3. Vegas Video 6.0d Freezes when Capturing HD video (Sony Hc-1)
    By Valrio in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 04:30 AM
  4. Video 8 editing - jog bar freezes up program
    By Tbarnzee in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2005, 03:41 PM
  5. Video capturing freezes at first frame
    By mobius in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 09:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •