Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Vegas Pro 8 - Can I Automate video effects using audio information?

  1. #1

    Default Vegas Pro 8 - Can I Automate video effects using audio information?

    Hey, I was wondering if it's possible to automate video effects using say, the decibels of an audio track. The intended goal is to make something fluctuate on screen (controlling a series of different knobs for things like glowing and noise and blur) based on a staccato style sound.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by v0idnull View Post
    Hey, I was wondering if it's possible to automate video effects using say, the decibels of an audio track.
    The quick answer is - No! - The longer answer is Noooooooo . .. . . unfortunately.

    Vegas does not have any feedback FROM the audio TO the visual. What we/I/others do is to literally "tap" out on the "M" (Marker) key rhythm/bass, or whatever, and use these markers as the reference points to make changes in any visual/fx wanted.

    Sometime in the past I "flirted" with a neat plugin from "Black Cat" . I'd have to re-research this one as it was about 3 years back - yeah?

    Nope, no straighforward way. Bummer, huh?

    Grazie

  3. #3

    Default

    eh...

    That sucks. This isn't music, this is a static noise like sound. It's impossible to tap out.

    Are there any windows based video editing suites that do this?

    thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    Noise eh? Hmmm... Can you get a sample screen grab of the waveform pre-noise and then with-noise. I may MAY have a cunning plan .. . (rubs chin) . . Grazie

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post

    Sometime in the past I "flirted" with a neat plugin from "Black Cat" . I'd have to re-research this one as it was about 3 years back - yeah?
    This may save some time...it's Blue Cat and the product is Digital Peak Meter
    Blue Cat's Digital Peak Meter - Convert Audio to Automation Curves (Freeware)
    and look at the tutorial for use with Vegas (the pdf version the other link is broken)
    It's not clear to me whether you need the pay-for version.

    Note this is not realtime. You use it to record an envelope and then apply that envelope to another track.

    Looks interesting.
    Tim

  6. #6

    Default

    Ah! Thanks Tim. I knew it was some colour of feline! - At least I didn't say Purple-Pussy!!- OOps, damm I just did!

    Yes, that's what it was - automated curves. I didn't convert my fliration into full-on consumation - unfortunately . . . close! But not what I would call "sleek".

    Grazie

Similar Threads

  1. Vegas 7.0 - Video Preview & Effects problem
    By Ten in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2007, 10:26 PM
  2. Edit audio NOT video in Vegas Platinum 7.0a
    By leemri in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-20-2007, 12:27 AM
  3. No audio when importing video into Vegas 6.0a
    By petees in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 06:06 PM
  4. Need help on Vegas 6 (can't see video,can hear Audio).
    By Noob2 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 09:59 PM
  5. Vegas Video 4 off timed audio even in preview
    By Mr.Man in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2004, 06:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •