Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi ! i Really could do with some help

Smile Hi ! i Really could do with some help

Hi, was reading your site and i was wondering if someone could possibly help me with some newbie advice.

Like this is a brand new idea i am really excited about, (getting into a film making) but i am a total novice.

There are a few ideas floating around my head, mainly comedy shorts, but im open to music videos etc, basically i havent a clue what im going to do, all i know is that i need to get a camera and a pc.

this is the camera i was looking at
    Buy TOSHIBA GSC-K80HE | High definition 80gb hard drive camcorder - Cameras & Camcorders | Comet

as i say i dont have a clue what im doing, so could someone please give me some advice on whether it is any good or not. also on my computer choice, i was going to splash out on a macbook. what do you think?

also im 20 years old and im doing an electronics job atm, i was wondering when you all started or whether you are in jobs in film at the minute.

anyways i would be very greatful for any beginner advice (books to read, websites, anything at all)

thanks

Blog Entries

I am guessing but probably about 15% of posters earn thier living from film making, most of those in the commercial rather than entertainment sector.

I would typify this site as meeting the needs of the keen autuer.

To answer your question fully would be a huge undrtaking - these are only pointers.

First the easy bit, and aruably not the most important bit, the kit.

Sound - This is at least as important as video and many films we see on here are ruined cos of poor sound. Spend as much on sound kit as you do on your camera. Yes really! You can have a radio play without video but you cant have a tv play without sound.