Thread: PC Editing System for the newbie

Default PC Editing System for the newbie

ok, hello. I am new to the editing part of video and do not know anything about computer lingo. Specs? I try to understand all the specs but I get lost. I am also on a very low budget and would like to know if there is any computer that I can buy that already has what I need to edit video? I have Adobe Prem but need a comp to edit from. Is there any sugestions?

Blog Entries

Faster the better but any new pc will do the job.

Get 2 drives - one for system and one for video - that is important.

What is the min of speed I would need?

Blog Entries

The minimum is pretty low as pcs have got so fast.

I started editing on a athlon xp1700. About pentium 2 ghz is the min, avoid celerons.

You should be able to pick up an AMD Athlon with dual core or Pentium 4 reasonably cheap now, as Mark says get one around 2Ghz as minimum speed. If you are on a really tight budget then look in your local superstore aswell and not just 'computer shops', as they probably sell computers too and I see a lot of them now are trying desperately to shift stock.

1GB memory although it would be better to get 2GB if running any other version of Windows Vista other than Basic. Again two hard disks are better than one, you may have to initially buy a computer with one hard disk and when funds allow purchase a second drive and install it. Forget about a flashy graphics card, onboard sound (built into the computer) will suffice as you won't need anythng like Dolby Surround at present, just stick to two channel stereo sound and even that will sound good when you start out.