Thread: Need help...I'm new at this

Default Need help...I'm new at this

hello,

computer = pc /xp

video editing / production software is unknown territory to me...
    The research I've done so far has narrowed it down...
    So, without opening a big can of worms, which is better for youtube posts & generally creating music videos ...

Video Studio [version] ?

Vegas [version] ?

Media Studio [version] ?

Other ?

p.s. _ I Do NOT like Adobe products, so am looking at the "alternatives"

Blog Entries

Which is "better" is often a case of personal taste/workflow, so long as the products meet your requirements.
    You may be into a couple of weeks of heavy learnning - most products have a free fully functional time-knackered trial available for download.
    Tim

Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    Which is "better" is often a case of personal taste/workflow, so long as the products meet your requirements.
    You may be into a couple of weeks of heavy learnning - most products have a free fully functional time-knackered trial available for download.
    Thanks for the reply...
    Yes, I'm ready for the learning curve

What do you use ?

Blog Entries

I use Vegas 8 Pro. I started with Vegas Movie Studio Platinum v6 and can thoroughly recommend the current version.

Prior to that I used Pinnacle Studio (v9) which was/is a great program - very intuitive - hailed by many as the easiest to get into. Sadly, it was let down by major stability problems and like many others I jumped ship.

Vegas Movie Studio IS limited compared to Pro, but it's very well featured compared to the competition. I could probably do 95%+ of my editing on VMS. How often do you really need more than 4 video tracks and 4 audio tracks? How useful will you find scrpting? Do you need Velocity Envelopes or Secondary Colour Correction? All useful and desirable facilities, but until you're sure Vegas is the product for you I recommend you start with VMS.