Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Unable to capture HD video

  1. #1

    Default Unable to capture HD video

    Unable to capture after installing Ulead video studio 11.
    It does not see my Sony HG3 HD camcorder which is connected to PC via USB interface.
    Tried Pinnacle 12 and Vegas 8 as well. Again camcorder not seen as capture device.
    Whats wrong?

  2. #2

    Default

    Had the same problem with my HC7. Someone on one of thes forums made a suggestion that worked for me. You need a firewaire cable and a firewaire port in the computer. USB won't handle the stream anyway.

    Now just in case I'm wrong I hope someone else chimes in.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bfisher View Post
    Had the same problem with my HC7. Someone on one of thes forums made a suggestion that worked for me. You need a firewaire cable and a firewaire port in the computer. USB won't handle the stream anyway.

    Now just in case I'm wrong I hope someone else chimes in.
    But there is no firewire socket on this camera!
    Sony has its own software called Motion Picture browser which downloads the files from the camera to the PC via USB as .m2ts files. Ulead videostudio 11 plus is unable to read these files!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Just curious here. Are you transferring M2T files from the camera to the PC via USB or does the camera record to tape and you are actually 'capturing' the video stream acros USB as an m2t file?

    Anywas... respectfully, Ulead is at the home consumer end of the market as video editing s/w is concerned. To edit M2t files you will need some s/w aimed more at the prosumer level. I use premiere pro to edit my HDV footage. Even then you'll need a good spec box to do it.

  5. #5

    Default

    Motion Picture browser is the Sony software that comes with the camcorder. It downloads the video files from the memory card of the cam to the PC as .m2ts files.
    If I try to import htis to ulead it does not accept the file.
    If I try to capture from the camcorder, it says "no device to capture from"

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to Capture!
    By Chrishamsandwich in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 08:04 PM
  2. Unable to render full size video
    By SonyVegasNewbie in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2007, 04:17 PM
  3. Ulead video studio 7 unable to access
    By Ian CH in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 12:54 PM
  4. Unable to capture digital Video recorded in ELP mode
    By rkleiber in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2006, 08:11 PM
  5. unable to capture from VCR
    By regg0 in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2004, 09:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •