Thread: new to this

Default new to this

Hi,
    Im a complete beginner to all this and we are basically looking for a decent camera and tripod with the facilty to get the videos edited and uploaded onto youtube. We just want to showcase some of our products on youtube and google ect. We also plan to do a short video about our company. I guess we would need a microphone too, but being new to this don't want to spend a fortune, could any give us some advice on what type of camera to buy and what to avoid.

Cheers

Can you say what your budget is, as this will determine the type of camcorder and other equipment you can purchase. Where do you intend to show the video of your company outside of the likes of YouTube, will you need high definition video, is it for exhibitions or trade shows?

Default about 500

Hi ,

We want to spend around 500. We would like to be able to transfer the videos to youtube and also onto our website for customers to view. We may also want to do a short presentation on the product so I guess a microphone would also be needed (unless one can be bought with inbuilt mic). Do you think we may need one of those white unbrellas too?

Most importantly though it will need clarity and the ability to have the tools to transfer to a PC and be able to have a few graphics added over the video such as logos ect,.

Regards and Thanks

With a budget of 500 you will need a number of items. Firstly a camcorder, next a tripod (essential for producing professional looking videos as handheld shots will not do), a bag to carry the camcorder in and some editing software. So that narrows down the type of camcorder you can buy, I would suggest a Mini DV tape based camcorder possibly a Canon model, a JVC model or a Panasonic model (there is a 3CCD model still available from none other than Argos at 199.99) or maybe try Jessops if there is a store near you.