Thread: Used Canon XL2 buying advice - What should I look out for?

1. Default Used Canon XL2 buying advice - What should I look out for?

Hi There,

I am a complete noobie to the world of video. I am setting up a website that requires a lot of high quality video footage and have decided to purchase a high end camera.

After some research and reccommendations from friends I am thinking about getting a Canon XL2. I have found a used XL2 at a good price and will be going to view it tommorrow.

Does anyone have any tips on what I should be looking out for when viewing/testing it?

Are there any common problems or issues that I should check?

Are there any tell tale signs of one in bad condition?

Any thoughts and advice are highly appreciated.

Western Europe

I don't own a Canon XL2 but I've used them in college and they are great camcorders.So this is more general advice and possibly the best thing you are doing is actually going and looking at it. Check the body of the camera for wear and tear, does the tape compartment open and close correctly and can you hear any strange noises coming from the camcorder when it has been on for a few minutes?

Make sure any part attached to the camera body is not loose and that all the buttons are responsive. Check the viewfinder and make sure it can be focused correctly for your eyesight and there are no dead pixels on the display. Make sure all connections are clean and don't move when you grab them and give them a shake. Check the front lens element for scratches, cracks or even a small spec of dirt which if it the wrong place will appear on your recordings and ruin them.