Thread: music copyright advice

Default music copyright advice

Hi. I'm a newbie video editor and am editing a couple's holiday film. They went to Africa and while they were there saw various live bands at events they attended. One band was playing a promotional show in a record shop. The music is great and really adds to the film but I'm concerned about the copyright issues. Is it OK for me to use this music and if not - how do I go about resolving the copyright problem? I don't know the names of the bands..... Any advice much appreciated!

What's the purpose of the final video? Is it just a couples home video or is it going to be copied and distributed?

If something is someone's home video and they have been filming a holiday and it just happens that part of this filming includes a band then there is no issue.
    www.nothingissound.co.uk // http://www.youtube.com/user/truebassist

Sony DSR-PDX10 // Sony Wide Angle Conversion Lens 0.7x // Sony ECM-NV1 // RØDE NTG-1 // Dolly [coming soon]

Adobe CS4 Master Suite // MacBook Pro Alu 2.4Ghz

Blog Entries

Wrong, wrong wrong.

If you go to Glastonbury and film a band with your mobile to send to your parents, you're infringing copyright law. If you use a camcorder to film a free concert in Hyde Park to show your siblings, you're infringing copyright law, if you film a small band in a record shop to show your friends, you're infringing copyright law.

The ONLY time you're 100% safe is if (a) you own the copyright or (b) you have written, signed permission to use the material in a specified way. It's that simple.

Since (a) does not apply in this case, you can get licences to use the material from the IOV (Institute of Videography) the PRS or various other institutions by paying a small fee. It's your decision as to whether you're going to pay this fee for a video which is only going to be seen by a few friends or just use the material and hope that you won't get caught.