Thread: How to render correctly from Vegas 8 for a UK DVD

Default How to render correctly from Vegas 8 for a UK DVD

Hello everyone,

Sorry to start off with a technical question but here goes, hopefully...
    I'm a newbie to video editing and have managed to get my head round what I wanted to do editing-wise using Sony Vegas 8. It took a lot of time and now I'd like to see the fruits of my efforts on DVD, playable on a UK TV. I feel like I've got stuck at the last hurdle, though!

Having followed the advice I have managed to come across online, I've rendered out of Vegas in Main Concept MPEG2, using the NTSC DVD stream without changing any of the default settings.
    Not only does the resulting file looks awful - with what I can only describe as a deinterlacing horizontal shift type look - but there's no sound, when viewed on my computer.

I had previously rendered my video as Windows Media V9 with great results, then I converted this wmv file to MPEG2 so that I could view it on a digital photo frame. That worked well using a freebie video converter program, although, looking at it again, there's a fair few pixelly type artefacts going on.

I'm thinking I can maybe use that MPEG2 file to try making the DVD in DVD Architect, but I imagine it would be better if I could render the video initially in the correct format for DVD creation without having to put it through a conversion and subsequent loss of generation.

So to cut this longwinded story short (but it shows I've tried!) - any advice on how I should render the movie from Vegas and what settings to use in DVD Architect would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

All I want is to see my movie on the telly!

There is a PAL DVDV template in the same place you found the NTSC one, use that one. See if has audio as well, if not use the AC3 for the audio.