Thread: Freelance Video Editing jobs...?

Default Freelance Video Editing jobs...?

Hey, I don't know if this is where I should put this or not, but heres my question:

I'm currently 16 and almost done highschool, I've been editing and such since 2002, I have made a few home movies, ripped some DVD footages and made music videos out of them and such,. etc.
    I work with these programs;

Photoshop
    Sony Vegas
    VirtualDubMod

I understand most if not all aspects of video editing; framerate, colour spaces, aspect ratios, interlaced/progressive and codecs such as XVID, MPEG4, h.264

as you can see I'm pretty limited to video editing only, is this the only skill I would need to advanced in video industries?

I was wondering what I could expect from one of those freelance job sites as a video editor? I have never did a job for anyone yet, and have no idea what it will be like... I enjoy editing alot and would like to advance in this field.

Any advice on what I should be studying or reading up on to get more into the video industrie? And where could I find a job doing it?

Thanks.

Good place to start. If you really want to get serious about the Video Industry I'm afraid you're probably not going to like what I'm about to say...