Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Video Capture

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2

    Default Video Capture

    After capturing Hi8 footage into Media Studio Pro 6.5 it seems O.K. However when I try to open it in the Timeline on the Editor all thay appears is a thick black line. Looking at properties on the clip in the library gives a compression ratio of 149%. Can anyone help a novice?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,362

    Default

    Does the captured video play in Media Player? How is the video encoded?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2

    Default Video Capture

    As this was my first attempt at capturing video I deleted all the clips that opened up as a solid line & not as a filmstrip. I then captured some more footage which opened up as filmstrip which is fine. However further captured footage once again opened as a black line. This will play in Windows Media player & is in the library as an AV1 file. I dont know if this gives a clue but the properties of the clip which opens up as a filmstrip reads :- Format 24 bits (320 x 240 ) Comp Ratio 48% & the solid line clips properties reads :- Format 12 bits (320 x 240 ) Comp Ratio 148%

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,362

    Default

    Well, I'll do my famous trick and jump to the obvious - sounds as uf you need to ensure you capture at 24bit, otherwise Media Studio doesn't like the video. Well, I tried to figure out how to do this on my copy of Media Studio 6 - but the video capture compression option was greyed out. Then, when I tried to relaunch the application, It just crashed every time.

    So my reccomendation is to capture using a freeware application such a VirtualDub and then import the clips for editing in Media Studio. I've written a guide to capture using VirtualDub at http://www.marcpeters.co.uk/wondergoals.html - its written for capturing video games, but the principles are the same!

Similar Threads

  1. Video studio 8 capture without splitting video?
    By Tbarnzee in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-26-2008, 09:38 AM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  3. Capture Video Has Audio/Video Sync Problems
    By theroacher in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 11:40 AM
  4. My video capture process is locked - can't capture
    By Lance2004 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 12:20 AM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •