Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: newbie- Bad jaggies on first shot

  1. #1

    Default newbie- Bad jaggies on first shot

    Hi All,

    Just shot my first clip on a Sony Vx2000.
    When I transferred to PC via firewire the saved
    vid had pretty bad jaggies.
    I have attached an screenshot example.
    These seem alot worse than any I have seen before.
    Yet when I play the vid on the camera and display
    from the composite output there is none.
    Anyone familar with this phenomenom ?
    Will it display when I transfer to DVD ?
    If so maybe I should capture from the composite output ?
    Alternatively anyone recommend the best editing package for
    dealing with this ?
    I guess even good editing won't be a great finish on this.

    Thanks for any help,
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK


    The answer to this is both easy and embarrassing at the same time.

    Easy - because it;s a readily available answer on this site
    Embarrassing - because you clearly didn;t go looking

    Item number ONE on the FAQ over at Digital Video Editing Guides: Digital Director - faq

    If you need more then just ask.

    The bottom line though is that this is perfectly nomral interlacing and will look just fine when you authro a DVD and play it back on a TV

  3. #3


    Thanks for the help Alan.
    I had searched for other with similar problem and checked the FAQ on this forum but I guess I shudda checked the others.
    I was concerned because on my shots it seemed alot worse than any I had seen elsewhere.
    But glad to hear that there's nothing wrong

    Thanks again,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK


    No worries. Just a symptom of viewing an interlaced video on a non interlaced device, that's all. Edit away. Make sure you produce a DVD with interlacing (check field ordering for your area) and when watched on a TV all should be ok.

    Always produce a test DVD of a small clip first though to check your workflow out.

Similar Threads

  1. Jaggies in Premiere 6.5
    By loosefilms in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2008, 04:44 PM
  2. Jaggies - Deinterlace??
    By moonmin troll in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 10:03 PM
  3. How was this shot?
    By quadfmxer_145 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 04:56 PM
  4. sniper shot
    By boudey in forum User Videos
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-07-2007, 03:16 AM
  5. New York (in a shot or two)
    By Gwenny The Vegie in forum User Videos
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 06:02 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts