Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Definitely NOT "The Perfect Video Editing PC"

  1. #1

    Default Definitely NOT "The Perfect Video Editing PC"

    Put bluntly, I have a crappy computer. It's old. It was old when I built it last year. Look in my signature for the specs.

    Anyway, I've been using Ulead Videostudio 7 for a while, until a copy of Adobe Premiere Pro 7 came into my possession. With VideoStudio, my video performance was "ok". Now that I have Premiere, everything is loading slowly and it takes FOREVER to render :( I really want to upgrade.

    Being the poor 13-year-old that I am, I only have $80 to spend. I want an upgrade that will most siginificantly improve my video performance. What should I get? A Mobile Athlon XP 2400? A 512MB stick of RAM? Something else? I'm completely at a loss for ideas.
    AMD Sempron 2600+ (Socket 754; 1.6GHz)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    768MB Crucial PC2100 (I know, I really need PC3200 :()
    ATI Radeon 9200

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    1) DO you/are you willing to overclock?
    2)Do you think you could sell ur processor if u bought a new one?

    I would only suggest u get a 2400-M if u plan to overclock...These are mighty overclockers and will likely gain close to a ghz increase. BUT...I would not suggest overclocking on that motherboard (KT400 chpset :( )...ull end up with data corruption....

    a second 256 stick would also speed things up
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  3. #3

    Default

    I was hoping to get at least 11 x 200 with the 2400-M. Do you think this is feasible on a KT400?

    About selling my 2000, I guess I could put it on eBay. A quick check just now shows that they sell for $30-40...

    If I can't overclock on my KT400, how about this:

    1. Get a standard XP 2500 with my $80
    2. Sell my 2000 and buy a 256MB stick of RAM

    Would that be good?

    Edit: I've got an old KT266 mobo laying around, should I sell that as well? Might get me a nice $10-20.
    AMD Sempron 2600+ (Socket 754; 1.6GHz)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    768MB Crucial PC2100 (I know, I really need PC3200 :()
    ATI Radeon 9200

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    that would be good....the problem with the KT400 and ocing with it is that it has no pci/agp lock, so when u increase the speed of the processor, the AGP and PCI bus speeds increase. This causes data to go to fast and collide, thus corrupting ur system files on ur hard drive.

    I would say stick with a mobile, especially if u think ull upgrade ur mobo
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Can't comment on the overclocking discussion - not my area!

    But up until early this year when I got myself a new rig I was editing using Premiere 6.5 on an Athlon 1800+ based system and things were pretty much ok. I did have a Gig of RAM though. It wasn't geared up for video editing but it was doing a reasonable job - with about a dropped frame every few thousand on analogue capture. Given the quality of the old VHS tapes I was transferring I could live with that.

    So, overclocking aside, add RAM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by millsy
    Can't comment on the overclocking discussion - not my area!

    But up until early this year when I got myself a new rig I was editing using Premiere 6.5 on an Athlon 1800+ based system and things were pretty much ok. I did have a Gig of RAM though. It wasn't geared up for video editing but it was doing a reasonable job - with about a dropped frame every few thousand on analogue capture. Given the quality of the old VHS tapes I was transferring I could live with that.

    So, overclocking aside, add RAM.
    i agree completely....RAM!!!...because if ur not gonna overclock a couple hundred mhz isnt going to really make a difference...
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  7. #7

    Default

    OK. I'll just get a 512MB stick then.

    Thanks for your advice!
    AMD Sempron 2600+ (Socket 754; 1.6GHz)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    768MB Crucial PC2100 (I know, I really need PC3200 :()
    ATI Radeon 9200

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Yep. More RAM! Definitely.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    well

    u will prolly not want to mix that 256 with 512....but it may work...
    2.6b at 3.3
    1 gig of OCZ Platinum Limited Edition PC3200(2-2-2)
    Abit IC7
    Seagate 80gb sata
    Aspire X-Alien
    460W Enermax
    9800 Pro
    SP-94 with Tornado

    Panasonic GS200 on its way with:
    3 DV Tapes, Tripod, Bag, Telephoto Lens, Lens Cleaning Kit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Erm, why not?

    Standard single-channel DIMMs can technically be mixed. Although I've come across some that for some reason are incompatible with each other, as long as you buy decent quality proper branded RAM you should have no problem at all.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Newbie"- How do I splice video (recommend program
    By hermes_vb in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2007, 01:28 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-22-2007, 10:43 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-14-2006, 02:06 PM
  4. "latest" video editing sottware on gadget show in 5 mins
    By enc in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 06:00 PM
  5. Best "light" video editing software?
    By DieMisfitDie in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 05:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •