Thread: Selective disc syndrome

Default Selective disc syndrome

My name is Don and I'm a newbie at making home videos with much to learn.

I use MS movie maker because I just found it on my computer and started playing with it and found that I like doing it.

Now here is my problem. With much butt scratching and to many smokes I finally created a video that will play on my home dvd player. The problem is it might play on someone else's player or it might not. I have discovered the world or ac/dc in the player world. I know that there is a solution for the problem since store bought dvd's will play on any dvd player regardless of age. Is there an all player disc or is it in the encoding process.

In checking faq's for this section there was a general question addressing the problem.

Video won't play in my DVD player!

The first link just takes me back to the forum directory, the second takes me to a list of dvd players and what they can play.

Neither of these answered my question, so is there a disc or a program that allows me to make a disc that can play on any dvd player or am I sol.

Thanks in advance.
    Don

There are two types of dvd disc that are used, one is a dvd-r and the other is a dvd+r, these let you record onto them once and that's it. They are called recordable discs. Then there are the re-writable discs and they work like a VHS tape, they are dvd-rw and dvd+rw.

Depending on which type you used on your computer it played back alright on your dvd player but it may not play back on someone else's as it may not be able to read the same disc. This shouldn't happen as much now as it did a few years ago as modern dvd players should be able to playback all types disc whether they are -r, +r, -rw or +rw. So you may need to run off another disc with the opposite symbol (+ instead of - or - instead of +) to the one that worked on your home dvd player.