Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nightclub opening documentary.

Default Nightclub opening documentary.

Hi, this is my first time on here; this is a documentary I made for my second year studying film at university.
    I was limited with certain aspects e.g. characterisation; which affected the creative control I would have preferred to have, but basically it is a documentary trying to show a more intimate and sensitive side to a nightclub; contrasting the stereotype of sex, drugs and alcohol.
    It was my first stint directing as I study more film theory, so there are notable errors e.g. the sound is off (my technician didn't tell me this at any stage). It was also my first time editing and using avid and I put in way too many transitions but I cannot change this now unfortuneately.
    I would be grateful if you could watch it, and comment if you like. It is aesthetically easy to watch as the club is a million pound venue and is now one of the 'richest' places in Newcastle. I was under a lot of pressure when I made the film because I'm pretty sure the owner who was the focal point thought I was more experienced than I was and he gave me exclusive access that no other media resources got.
    My best friend who does not go to uni did the sound.
    Thanks, Nick.

YouTube - Inside The Palace.
    Last edited by jiggajay1988; 06-08-2008 at 08:36 PM.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by jiggajay1988 View Post
    this is a documentary I made for my second year studying film at university.
    When do they get around to teaching you some basics?

I'm sorry to sound harsh and as no more than an enthusiastic amateur newcomer to making films my criticism doesn't really count for much, but in my opinion.....

(I'll ignore the poor sound which you've already mentioned)

1. This wasn't so much a documentary as a montage with a voice-over. The was little, if any, link between what we saw and what we heard.