Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Windows Vista is horrible for video editing

  1. #1

    Default Windows Vista is horrible for video editing

    Memory problems, AVI playback problems aaargh. Gone back to my old machine with XP. Installed a firewire card, upgraded RAM to 3GIG, already has a AMD Dual Core processor installed. Vista is all about looking pretty! Nothing more. Wasted £720 on a Dell XPS 420...PC World they better refund me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Burgess Hill//West Sussex//UK
    Posts
    102

    Default

    I wouldn't say it's horrible...I'm running a 1.86GHz Duo Core Laptop with 2GB RAM and an nVIDIA graphics card with Vista Home Premium and the Adobe CS3 Master Suite & I've had no problems with it. I've got a desktop running XP which I'm building to have a stable desktop editing system but I've used Vista with Premiere Pro CS3, Ulead Video Studio 10 Plus and Vegas 7 with no problems apart from the rare freeze of the system when I've been too ambitious with my programmes.
    www.nothingissound.co.uk // http://www.youtube.com/user/truebassist

    Sony DSR-PDX10 // Sony Wide Angle Conversion Lens 0.7x // Sony ECM-NV1 // RØDE NTG-1 // Dolly [coming soon]

    Adobe CS4 Master Suite // MacBook Pro Alu 2.4Ghz

  3. #3

    Default

    Well I haven't experienced Vista, but I hear a lot of feedback from my acquaintance's having upgraded to it and switching back to XP. I think also Microsoft were intending to stop the sales of XP but due to 'glitches' with Vista have decided not to at the moment

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TrueBassist View Post
    I wouldn't say it's horrible...I'm running a 1.86GHz Duo Core Laptop with 2GB RAM and an nVIDIA graphics card with Vista Home Premium and the Adobe CS3 Master Suite & I've had no problems with it. I've got a desktop running XP which I'm building to have a stable desktop editing system but I've used Vista with Premiere Pro CS3, Ulead Video Studio 10 Plus and Vegas 7 with no problems apart from the rare freeze of the system when I've been too ambitious with my programmes.
    Would there be any reason why AVI videos were playing fast forward in Vista?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Burgess Hill//West Sussex//UK
    Posts
    102

    Default

    I've had this problem on an XP machine running Ulead VideoStudio 10 Plus so I wouldn't put it down to Vista / Premiere Pro CS3 *straight away*. I honestly have no idea what the problem is but I remember re-capturing my footage a second time and the problem wasn't there anymore...very odd. Maybe someone else has the answer!!
    www.nothingissound.co.uk // http://www.youtube.com/user/truebassist

    Sony DSR-PDX10 // Sony Wide Angle Conversion Lens 0.7x // Sony ECM-NV1 // RØDE NTG-1 // Dolly [coming soon]

    Adobe CS4 Master Suite // MacBook Pro Alu 2.4Ghz

Similar Threads

  1. Video Editing in Vista
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 03:46 PM
  2. Does Studio 9 work under Windows Vista
    By HPriser in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 10:01 AM
  3. Sony Vegas 7 with Windows Vista.
    By TWIY in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-22-2007, 11:22 AM
  4. Medion 505 and Windows Vista???
    By Bianka in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 04:49 PM
  5. Premier Pro on Windows Vista
    By graham099 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 08:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •