Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Why we Need more than 1 HD in our system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    8

    Default Why we Need more than 1 HD in our system

    Why we need more than 1 HDD in our system? I used 1 HDD and still can capture and edit movie form my DV cam? Why not we just create 2 or 3 partition to differentiate either or system and video?Is it important?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    It's all about disk access and seek times. The theory is that if you have a sperate drive, tasks requiring files from the boot drive won't interfere with encoding/capture. It's really more a case of every little helps. You could also argue that you're reducing the risk of failure (but to do this, best to go for a RAID array)

  3. #3

    Default

    That is very informative, however do you actually need a seperate harddrive? Might you simply partition as "tribute" suggests? May I have as clear cut an answer as possible please?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Captain: no, partitioning a drive won't help. It must be two physically separate drives. The reason, as Marc alluded to earlier, is disk accesses. As your PC is running and e.g. Premiere is running, it spends a surprising amount of time accessing the disk - disk is where virtual memory is, and there are very few apps these days that will fit into your physical memory, so the app will keep calling new routines from the disk. So the heads on your primary desk are constantly moving just to keep your PC running. Now, if you run a disk-intensive app like video capture, the disk has a whole new set of head accesses to cope with. That's a particular problem in capturing video because, in order to maximise your chances of capturing with no frames dropped, you want the capture to have exclusive access to the read/write heads (and, ideally, to be laying down the capture to a contiguous area of disk) - you don't want the heads also being used to swap virtual memory in and out or load and unload new app routines. So a single, partitioned drive won't work because you're using the same set of heads for everything. HTH.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  5. #5

    Default

    Thankyou! You can't get much more clear cut than that!
    I will be heading to the computer store now to change my order from one to two hard drives - 80GB for programs, 120GB for capturing - both SATA.
    This will actually save me money!

Similar Threads

  1. system requirements
    By lefva in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 10:48 PM
  2. are my system properties enough ?
    By lefva in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 08:40 AM
  3. New System
    By Anonymous in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 08:53 PM
  4. New system, which motherboard
    By newviduser in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 08:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •